Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Sondra Erickson (R)

Back to profile

RELEASE: Rep. Sondra Erickson Receives Association of Metropolitan School Districts’ 2017 Friend of Public Education Award

Monday, October 9, 2017

ST. PAUL - The Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD) presented Representative Sondra Erickson with its 2017 Friend of Public Education Award at its board of directors meeting on Friday, October 6. The AMSD Friend of Public Education Award is presented annually to state policymakers who demonstrate exceptional leadership, advocacy and support of public education and issues important to AMSD member school districts. 

During the 2017 legislative session, Rep. Erickson championed, and was the chief author of legislation to address the teacher shortage and reform the teacher licensure system. Rep. Erickson worked tirelessly as co-chair of the Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensing to address the shortcomings in Minnesota’s teacher licensing system that had been identified in a 2016 report issued by the Office of the Legislative Auditor.

“AMSD greatly appreciates Rep. Erickson’s strong leadership and guidance in passing a comprehensive educator licensing reform package during the 2017 session," said AMSD Chair Steve Adams. "This legislation will increase transparency, streamline the licensure process and help our school districts address the teacher shortage.”


About AMSD

In existence since 1974, AMSD represents 41 K-12 school districts, six intermediate/educational cooperative districts, three integration districts, and over half of the state’s students.  While AMSD’s primary task is to lobby at the state level for the needs of metropolitan school districts, it also is a highly respected source of information for member districts, legislators, the media, and parent advocacy groups on issues ranging from funding to policy. For more information, please visit

House Image

From left to right -- Sen. Eric Pratt, Rep. Sondra Erickson, Rep. Jenifer Loon, and Sen. Carla Nelson all
received recognition for their efforts to better public education.

Recent News for Rep. Sondra Erickson